How to leave a copy of messages on the server (POP mail)

When you retrieve e-mail messages from a POP3 e-mail account, the messages are deleted from the e-mail server by default after they are downloaded to your computer. For many people, this works great.

However, if you want to check your e-mail from multiple computers or on a mobile email device, you must configure Outlook to not delete the messages on your e-mail server.

When you leave messages on your e-mail server, you can choose from several options to delete your messages. To make your choice, you need to consider several factors about your e-mail usage, such as how long you want the messages to be accessible from multiple computers/devices, and the storage limits imposed by your e-mail server administrator. If you exceed your storage limit, you might be unable to receive new messages. Outlook allows you to select a time duration for leaving e-mail messages on the server.

In Microsoft Outlook, select the Tools menu and then click E-mail Accounts…

E-mail Accounts

Select View or change existing e-mail accounts and then click Next.

leave a copy of messages on the server

Select the account to be edited and click Change

leave a copy of messages on the server

Click More Settings in the bottom right corner.

leave a copy of messages on the server

Click the Advanced tab, and under Delivery, select the Leave a copy of messages on the server check box.

leave a copy of messages on the server

Select one or both of the following options:

Remove from server after x days – E-mail messages are downloaded to your computer but remain on the e-mail server for the number of days that you specify. We recommend that you choose the smallest number of days that suits your needs. The longer you leave messages on your e-mail server, the greater the risk of exceeding your mailbox size quota.

Remove from server when deleted from ‘Deleted Items’ – E-mail messages are downloaded to your computer but also remain on the e-mail server indefinitely until you delete the e-mail message in Outlook and empty the Deleted Items folder. Just deleting the message doesn’t remove the message from the e-mail server.

If you do not select either check box, messages are left on the server indefinitely. You can eventually exceed your mailbox quota.

Click OK, and then click Finish.